showcasing Portrait, Fashion and Landscape Photography

My Best Bee Macro Shots – Tamron 90mm 2.8

Recently I invested in a Tamron 90mm 2.8 lens, it is simply one of the best lenses I have ever got my hands on! Incredible sharpness, colour, contrast and also amazing macro capabilities. The only area I find rather average is the build quality levels, but for the cheap price their has to be a slight flaw. Guess I will need to careful not to drop it too many times, but I will avoid doing this if possible! I value this lens too much to drop it.

From the things I’ve heard this lens will make a great portrait aswell, as a 135mm equivalent on my D90 it makes it perfect for head shots. Where the 2.8 aperture will do a great job of making the background vanish at the same time.

Macro recently became an area that I wanted to master, it really has been a great fun adventure. While challenging at the same time.

Bees are one of my favourite insects and I shot these last weekend as the sun was just breaking through the trees in late afternoon, was fairly pleased to get this close to these creatures.

All comments are welcome-

Bee in flight macro tamron 90

Bee flower macro colour beauty photograph

5 responses

  1. Very, very nice! Guessing you had to be patient to get those?! Well done 🙂

    August 26, 2011 at 4:02 am

    • Thank you very much Fergus, it was two hours spent patiently. But was worth it in the end… I’m really getting addicted to the world of macro. 🙂

      August 30, 2011 at 7:40 pm

  2. Good images. Do you think that showing a little more of the bee, in the first photo, would work better?

    August 30, 2011 at 7:48 am

    • Thanks alot Mike, you make a very good point. The major flaw with the top photo is the fact there should be more space above the bee itself. Hopefully next time! I had to act so quickly to capture the bee in flight, it was hard to fully compose the photograph to my liking. 🙂

      August 30, 2011 at 7:44 pm

  3. Great images. It is nice you were able to capture the bee in sharp quality. Usually they move around so quickly.

    June 4, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Leave a Reply

