showcasing Portrait, Fashion and Landscape Photography

My Exciting new lens purchase… A Nikon? No A Sigma 50mm 1.4

I am highly excited as I have just ordered a new lens, shockingly though it isn’t a Nikon lens!

As a Nikon DSLR user, I have always been wary of third party lenses. I have always preferred to buy the real thing. The ‘real thing’ in my mind is Nikon lenses, Nikon has a rich history in optical design and have been making marvelous lenses for many decades. I always have aspired to buy Nikon lenses over all the other brands.. but was I right to do so?

It would seem not… it would seem I have been slightly blinkered in my view. I listened to many stories about how third party camera lenses are inferior to their Canon and Nikon equivalents. Maybe this was once the case, Sigma, Tokina and Tamron afterall are budget brands producing lenses at cut cost prices. So in theory they are not meant to be as good…

Anyway I digress, I was all set to upgrade my 50mm 1.8 AF D for the new Nikon 50mm 1.4 AF-S G lens. That was until the Sigma 50mm 1.4 EX DG was recommended to me on one of the forums I regularly visit, I thought ‘Sigma! Why would I choose Sigma if I can afford the Nikon lens, as obviously the Nikon is the better lens!’. I carried on thinking this until I began researching the Sigma, from the reviews I have seen this lens clearly makes the Nikon 50’s look ‘old hat’.

Sigma have performed a savvy business move on Nikon and Canon here, providing a lens at a decent price point that outperforms the old fashioned lens designs the big two are still using!

Anyway, as you have probably guessed by now. I haven’t ordered a Nikon 50mm AF-S G, but I have ordered a Sigma 50mm 1.4 EX DG. Will I regret it?

Check out these great independent reviews-  http://www.ryanbrenizer.com/blog/2008/09/review-sigma-50mm-f1-4/  and here http://www.lenstip.com/177.1-Lens_review-Sigma_50_mm_f_1.4_EX_DG_HSM_Introduction.html

Samples from the Sigma 50mm 1.4 by Marcus Schwarze (Beautiful images)-

Portrait von Lena #016
Street Photography Portrait #021

2 responses

  1. Congratulations on your Sigma purchase! I’ve been happy with the Canon 50/1.4, and I’m always interested in reading about what people have to say about 3rd-party equivalents.

    August 6, 2011 at 4:30 am

  2. Thank you, I have now got the lens and it really is a great lens! Very chuffed with the bokeh especially.

    August 16, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

