showcasing Portrait, Fashion and Landscape Photography

Canon 7D DSLR: A Canon to turn a Nikon Man to Canon?

As a Nikon user, I know I’ve invested into a good system. But just sometimes… I have those nagging doubts that I might be enjoying my camera more if I was shooting Canon. As a person who is yet to use a Canon DSLR extensively I sometimes have a nagging desire to trade all my Nikon gear in to the local second-hand shop and buy a brand new shiny Canon DSLR instead (Yes, I realise how incredibly irrational this whole article sounds, but maybe some of you can relate to my madness?). I have these phases sometimes for  a few days or even a week, then usually I regain my sanity and realise I need to make the best out of the system I have already… which I am still yet to do by a long shot!

Anyway.. I am sad to say I am having one of those phases right now. For some irrational reason, I am craving to try or even consider buying a Canon 7D. Although a couple of years old now, it seems to really be a BEAST of a camera and one that 90% of owners absolutely love. Amazing reviews for this Canon gem are scattered all over the world-wide web and alot of its early critics seem to have been silenced (i.e the complaints of too many mega pixels on a smaller sensor).

I’m sure this phase will pass and I will regain my sanity (sort of sanity!) over the next few days and I will happily return to my trusty Nikon D90. But hmmmmmm… I will remain curious about this beauty of a camera that is the Canon 7D for a while yet… Anyone willing to lend me theirs for  just a day?? Just so I can try? I will give it back honest!

dslr camera canon 7d convert me from nikon

Check out this fascinating Canon 7D review from Rob Galbraith- http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/multi_page.asp?cid=7-10042-10239

And another here from Roland – http://rolandlim.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/canon-eos-7d-review/

4 responses

  1. Hi there,

    So how did it end? Did you give in to Canon?

    Greetings from DubliN!
    A

    April 27, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    • Hi Akshay!

      Hmmm…. long story! haha. I have just ordered a refurbished Canon 50D and am considering selling the Nikon gear if I fall in love with it (the 7D was a bit too steep as I don’t own any Canon lenses). Partly because I want one of those 70-200 L f4’s. Are you a Canon or a Nikon man? Why did you choose one brand over another?

      Was in Dublin last year, Incredible city!

      Josh

      April 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  2. Hey Josh!

    Totally understand why 7D wouldn’t make sense to a Nikon man given the financial aspect of setting things up with it.

    I’m a Canon man, always have been. Never had a Nikon and no plans of changing my preference either. I guess it comes down to what you get used to and how well a brand serves you – they both are such good brands / products.

    Dublin is great, glad you liked it! I’m away in Italy and France at the minute though – but back in Dub soon. Are you based in the UK?

    April 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm

  3. Yes I’m in England. Hope your getting some good shots in Italy and France, good locations for photography without a doubt?

    Really like your blog and photography, keep up the good work!

    Josh

    May 2, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Leave a Reply

