showcasing Portrait, Fashion and Landscape Photography

David Olkarny: All about the lighting (Interview)

Here is that interview with the photographer/videographer David Olkarny I promised you, the more I look at David’s work the more I realise his work is all about the stunning LIGHTING and colour. He uses imaginative lighting setups to create impact and to create that Hollywood movie vibe, there appears to be a story in every image. Find out more about how David gets that unique lighting for his photos below…

How did you get into photography?

I bought the Canon 5D mark II for the full HD video feature, when I saw the amazing quality of some of the video clip’s I was shooting I quickly began to realise that photography would play a big part in my life.

What inspires you to create the work you do?

Movies, I’m studying moviemaking in Brussels and I try to mix photography with this passion.

Don't think too hard

What is the most satisfying part of the photographic process for you?

Definitely using Curves on Photoshop.

What do you aim to capture in your images, are their specific messages in your photography?

I tend to take photographs that communicate with the viewer and hold a message. I don’t like to shoot random people in random places with random lighting, I prefer to have an idea, a concept, a story to tell.

FED UP

Do you use any specific techniques in your work? (i.e. HDR, Long exposures)

The lighting is the most important thing on my photo shoots, I like it when the light is cinematic, mysterious, intriguing. Many photographers set a big flash in front of the model and I definitely do not understand why. The idea is to keep the shadow on the face to get the 3D look, the shadow is more realistic in my opinion.

My specific technique in lighting is to set the flash on the right or left of the model but never ever in front of the model. Regarding the processing I would suggest using Curves in Photoshop, it’s all about the curves for me.

What are your future ambitions for your photography? Where do you want to go with your work?

Secretly I would love to work in the advertising world.

Lost in translation

Thank you David for a fascinating insight, to see more of David’s work visit http://www.flickr.com/photos/olkaprod/

Goodbye summer

Leave a Reply

