showcasing Portrait, Fashion and Landscape Photography

Nikon D3S: The Lowlight King?

Stumbled across a great comparison today, the article compares the High ISO performance of the Nikon D700, Nikon D3 and Nikon D3S. As a Nikon D90 user (which is more than usable at ISO 1600), it is good to see Nikon are currently creating some great full frame cameras that perform well in low light. Check out the samples from the Nikon D3S at ISO 12,800. Perhaps the days of noisy images are soon to be to be a thing of the past if full frame becomes more affordable?

A true beast of a cam, sadly though another camera I have no chance of affording any time soon!

I’m looking forward to finding out more about the new Canon 5D MKiii aswell, I hear an announcement is soon to be made. I know of many photographers out there creating amazing videos on the Canon 5DMKii. I’m sure Canon will be working hard to make the 5D MKiii, the camera of choice for young film makers and the pro photography market.

Check out this comparison of the D3, D3S and D700 at high ISO and be amazed

http://mansurovs.com/nikon-d700-d3-vs-d3s-high-iso-noise-comparison

4 responses

  1. Very good camera! I have a Canon 5d …I am satisfied 🙂

    March 4, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    • Yes, I know so many people who love their 5D’s and I’d happily have one myself. I think Nikon has a SLIGHT edge at moment with autofocus and low light on full frame. But I’m sure Canon will be back making waves this year with the 5D MK3 comng out.

      March 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  2. The Canon 5d Mk2 is no slouch in low light but these Nikons have really raised the bar.

    March 4, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    • Yes as a Nikon Boy it’s nice to see Nikon raising the bar for a change, in digital they were lagging behind Canon for years. I’m now looking forward to the day I can afford to upgrade to full frame. Knowing that Nikon will keep improving, maybe we won’t need tripods anymore soon? The idea of walking round town in pitch black with no tripod sounds amazingly cool.

      March 5, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Leave a Reply

